Share page 
You are here: Home Church schools Resources Diocesan Schools Consultants

Diocesan Schools Consultants

Diocesan Schools Consultants (DSCs) are provided to support the link between the Board of Education and the Church schools in the diocese. They bring experience of working in education at headteacher level, with a clear understanding of the implications of running a Church of England school.

They advise

  • on the latest government initiatives
  • on the Denominational Inspection Framework (SIAMS)
  • on current OfSTED inspection arrangements
  • on current development issues being addressed by the Board of Education.

They also

  • offer support to headteachers to consider succession planning for staff and governors
  • undertake self-evaluation through the denominational inspection framework
  • develop provision for Religious Education and Collective Worship
  • strengthen links between school and parish/Diocese
  • facilitate inter-church school collaborations
  • promote the welfare of the pupils and the wellbeing of the staff.

They make three scheduled meetings to schools each year, normally termly.


Julie Barke

Julie Barke (BEd Hons, NPQH) was Headteacher of Walgrave Primary School and St James CofE Primary School Northampton, a school which has an outstanding SIAMS judgment. She is also currently Chair of Governors at St Peter's CE Academy in Raunds.

Julie can be contacted on

Craig Charteris

Craig Charteris (BA (ED) Hons, QTS, MA, CPSE, NPQH) is Headteacher of Hayfield Cross CE Primary, a new CE primary school which has good judgements in both SIAMS and Ofsted, and was previously Head of Trinity CE Primary School. He is also a Director of the Pathfinder Multi-Academy Trust.

Craig can be contacted on



Tracey Cunnginham

Tracey Cunningham (BEd Hons, NPQH) was a headteacher for 20 years - the last 10 years at William Law CE Primary school, which has had good Ofsteds and an excellentSIAMS inspection.  She is an LLE and an Academy Improvement Officer.

Tracey can be contacted on


Alistair Day

Alistair Day (BSc Hons, MA, PGCE, NPQH) is Headteacher of St Bede's Inter-Church School, an outstanding secondary school in Cambridge. He served as Chair of the Cambridgeshire Secondary Heads' Association for two years, and was deployed by the Regional Schools Commissioner to support the leadership teams of secondary schools within the county in challenging circumstances. He was a deputy head at Moulton School in Northants for six years.

Alistair can be contacted on

David Dyson

David Dyson (BA Hons, PGCE and NPQH) David has been the Headteacher of Riseley C of E Primary School in Bedfordshire for twelve years, a school which has had Outstanding SIAMS judgments and Good OfSTED judgements. He has over 20 years’ experience of leadership and management in Church VA schools.


David can be contacted on



Sandy Ettridge

Sandy Ettridge (BEd) was Headteacher of Brigstock Latham's CE Primary School, which has an outstanding judgement in SIAMS. She worked in a number of schools in Northamptonshire for many years, has been a lead teacher and Early Years Consultant, and held a number of senior management positions prior to becoming a headteacher. She has a passion for encouraging creativity across the primary curriculum.

Sandy can be contacted on


Pete Grindrod

Pete Grindrod (Cert Ed, Dip) has been Headteacher of Peakirk cum Glinton CofE Primary School, Beanfield Junior School in Corby, and Higham Ferrers Junior School. He is an experienced governor and was Chair of Finedon Schools from 2014 to 2020, as well as being a Director of Learning for Life Education Trust. He is also an independent School Improvement Consultant.

Pete can be contacted on

Eliza Hollis

Eliza Hollis (BEd Hons, NPQH) is Executive Head of The Forest CE Federation and a trained Ofsted Inspector. She is a School Improvement Partnership Headteacher and an Early Years Specialist Advisor for Northamptonshire County Council.

Eliza can be contacted on

Rachael Hutchinson

Rachael Hutchinson (BEd Hons, NPQH) was Headteacher of All Saints' Church of England Primary School in Peterborough, a school which achieved a recent excellent SIAMS judgement and was judged good with outstanding features for 5 consecutive Ofsted inspections.  Rachael also has many years of leadership experience as a LLE.  

Rachael can be contacted on

Janet McMurdo

Janet McMurdo (BEd, MaEd) was Headteacher of Oundle CofE Primary School, which has outstanding judgments both in SIAMS and Ofsted. She is also a SIAMS inspector.

Janet can be contacted on

Richard Meekings

Richard Meekings (BEd Hons, NPQH) was head of Great Addington CE Primary for over 17 years and in that time secured two 'outstanding' and one 'excellent' SIAMS judgements, and four 'good' Ofsted inspections.  Richard has also worked as a mentor and coach to newly appointed headteachers within PDET.

Richard can be contacted on

Heather Rattenbury

Heather Rattenberry (BA Hons, PGCE, NPQH, NLE, NCSL) was a Schools Development Adviser for the York Diocese. Prior to this she was a Church school headteacher in Nottinghamshire. She has been a teacher for 38 years, and for five years was a National Leader of Education. She has led many courses on Church school leadership, and was an elected member of the Southwell and Nottingham Diocesan Board of Education. She is also a SIAMS inspector.

Heather can be contacted on

Annette Ray

Annette Ray (BEd, Dip, NPQH) was Headteacher of Ashton and Ringstead CE Primary Schools – both schools with successful Ofsted and SIAMS inspections. She was an Associate Tutor at Northampton University and is a SIAMS Inspector.

Annette can be contacted on

Diane Wright

Diane Wright (HDE, MA, NPQH) is Headteacher of St Mary's CofE Primary School in Kettering, a school judged outstanding in SIAMS and good by Ofsted. She has many years of senior leadership experience, and specialises in a coaching model of challenge and support.

She can be contacted on