General Synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly.

The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

Each diocese elects three clergy and three lay members of Synod.  The members for Peterborough Diocese are: 

House of Clergy 

The Revd Canon Steve Benoy 

The Revd Mark Lucas 

The Revd Morna Simpson 

House of Laity 

Mrs Vicky Brett 

Dr Paul Buckingham 

Canon Andrew Presland 

If you wish to contact any of these members of General Synod please email 

To find out more about the work of the General Synod, along with papers from all past and current sessions see The Church of England General Synod page. 


Quick Links

Privacy Notice | Powered by Church Edit